GROUVE Axis: management and governance of agri-forestry landscapes

The Grouve axis - Management and Governance of Agri-Forestry Landscapes - aims to promote interdisciplinary thinking on and for the management and governance of agri-forestry landscapes. Whether in an agricultural, forestry or agri-forestry environment, management practices (of farmers, foresters) are at the heart of many of the unit's works. The Grouve axis addresses the question of their social determinants and implications.

The decision of a stakeholder to adopt a given management method in a given environment depends on a set of individual (e.g. interests, values, knowledge and representations) and collective (e.g. social interactions, public policies) determinants. The Grouve axis is thus interested in landscape governance, i.e. the set of rules and mechanisms that govern interactions between individuals about this landscape, and their influence on ecosystem practices and management. For example, some agro-ecological practices are based on the enhancement of ecological processes whose dynamics go beyond the farm level, and require coordination processes between the multiple actors that shape this landscape.

The Grouve axis is also interested in the social implications of management practices, for those who implement them (e.g. farm income), but also for other stakeholders who are indirectly impacted by these practices, through their effects on landscapes and ecosystem services or dis-services (e.g. landscape aesthetics, biodiversity). The management and governance of agri-forestry landscapes involves in particular managing antagonisms between services (e.g. between agricultural or forestry production and biodiversity conservation), and the associated conflicts of interest and values.

The Grouve axis is based on the premise that studying and supporting sustainable management and governance of agri-forestry landscapes is best done in an interdisciplinary way, combining ecology, social sciences and remote sensing, rather than through multidisciplinarity. Indeed, the socio-ecological systems that we study are characterized by the interweaving of the social and ecological subsystems that make them up. Their management and governance are therefore necessarily confronted with issues that are both environmental (preservation of ecosystems and biodiversity) and social (acceptability, equity, justice). The interdisciplinary posture can, for example, help to position management and governance objects and issues at spatial, temporal and organizational scales relevant to both environmental and social issues, and thus avoid the pitfall of separate disciplinary studies at incompatible scales. The interdisciplinary posture can also favour research questions formulated in terms of boundary objects (indicators, public policy devices, maps, models) and thus facilitate a reappropriation of common work in each discipline. Finally, the two preceding points can contribute to the creation of favorable conditions for the study of the dynamics of socio-ecological systems, which requires a common understanding of the environmental and social feedbacks induced by management and governance choices.

Moderators: Cécile Barnaud and Fabien Laroche

Axe GROUVE : gestion et gouvernance des paysages agriforestiers

L’axe Grouve - Gestion et gouvernance des paysages agriforestiers - vise à promouvoir des réflexions interdisciplinaires sur et pour la gestion et la gouvernance des paysages agriforestiers. Que ce soit en milieu agricole, forestier ou agriforestier, les pratiques de gestion (des agriculteurs, des forestiers) sont au cœur de nombreux travaux de l’unité. L’axe Grouve aborde la question de leurs déterminants et implications sociales.

 

La décision d’un acteur d’adopter un mode de gestion donné sur un milieu relève d’un ensemble de déterminants individuels (e.g. intérêts, valeurs, connaissances et représentations) et collectifs (e.g. interactions sociales, politiques publiques). L’axe Grouve s’intéresse ainsi à la gouvernance des paysages, c’est-à-dire à l’ensemble des règles et des mécanismes qui régissent les interactions entre les individus au sujet de ce paysage, et à leur influence sur les pratiques et la gestion des écosystèmes. Par exemple certaines pratiques agro-écologiques reposent sur la valorisation de processus écologiques dont les dynamiques dépassent le niveau de l’exploitation agricole, et nécessitent des processus de coordination entre les multiples acteurs qui façonnent ce paysage.

 

L’axe Grouve s’intéresse aussi aux implications sociales des pratiques de gestion, pour celui qui les met en œuvre (ex : revenu agricole), mais également pour les autres acteurs qui sont indirectement impactés par ces pratiques, via leurs effets sur les paysages et les services ou dis-services écosystémiques (ex : esthétique du paysage, biodiversité). La gestion et la gouvernance des paysages agriforestiers implique notamment de gérer des antagonismes entre services (par exemple entre production agricole ou forestière et préservation de la biodiversité), et les conflits d’intérêts et de valeurs associés.

 

L’axe Grouve part du postulat qu’étudier et accompagner une gestion et une gouvernance durables des paysages agriforestiers gagne à se faire de façon interdisciplinaire, en mêlant écologie, sciences sociales et télédétection, plutôt que par de la pluridisciplinarité. En effet, les systèmes socio-écologiques que nous étudions se caractérisent par l’intrication des sous-systèmes sociaux et écologiques qui les composent. Leur gestion et leur gouvernance se confrontent donc nécessairement à des enjeux à la fois environnementaux (préservation des écosystèmes et de la biodiversité) et sociaux (acceptabilité, équité, justice). La posture interdisciplinaire peut, par exemple, aider à positionner les objets et les questions de gestion et gouvernance à des échelles spatiales, temporelles et organisationnelles pertinentes pour les enjeux environnementaux comme pour les enjeux sociaux, et ainsi éviter l’écueil d’études disciplinaires séparées à des échelles incompatibles. La posture interdisciplinaire peut également favoriser les questions de recherche formulées en termes d’objets-frontières (indicateurs, dispositifs de politique publique, cartes, modèles) et ainsi faciliter une réappropriation du travail commun dans les disciplines de chacun. Enfin, les deux points précédents peuvent contribuer à créer des conditions favorables à l’étude de la dynamique des systèmes socio-écologiques, qui nécessite d’appréhender dans un cadre commun les rétroactions environnementales et sociales induites par les choix de gestion et de gouvernances.

 

Animateurs : Cécile Barnaud et Fabien Laroche